Daily Archives: May 10, 2012

THURSDAY SPARKS: THEMES & BOOKING — MAY 10

Welcome to another day of bookish delight, as we celebrate two events.

Theme Thursdays, hosted by Reading Between Pages, is all about finding themes in the books we read and enjoying the writing styles of the authors we explore.

Booking Through Thursday is like a conversation amongst bloggers in response to a prompt issued each week.

Come on by and join in the fun!

Theme Thursdays:

Our themes will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

DRINKS , tea, wine, beer, water (anything liquid)

***

I’m excerpting today from Reel Life, by Jackie Townsend.  Sisters are meant to always be there for each other, or are they? In the glare of reality, clashing views and acts of betrayal can form unbridgeable gaps, and the fabric of sisterly love must be rewoven from whole cloth. Reel Life, the debut novel by Jackie Townsend, charts the story of two sisters who must call upon the past to forge a new and meaningful connection.  Reel Life offers a poignant close-up of the most intimate of relationships that move, confuse, haunt, and heal. Surging with drama interlaced with subtle irony, Reel Life will shock, surprise and move anyone who understands that sometimes, escaping reality offers the clearest path to emotional truth.

Snippet:  (2003:  Jamie is on her way to Thailand from LA)

The plane hit some bumps, and she gripped the armrest with one hand, while waving the steward over for some champagne with the other.  Turbulence never used to bother her, but it had been two years since she had flown, and alcohol seemed to help.  p. 15

(My go-to drink when flying!)

***

Booking Through Thursday – (Prompt):

Heidi had an assortment of questions to ask:

Do you consider yourself an extrovert or an introvert?

That’s not so easy to answer.  Years ago, I would have said “introvert,” but then I had a career in social work, in which I had to put myself out there; I had to approach strangers in tricky situations and win them over.  Gain their trust.  And then I had to keep doing that over and over every day.

It got easier, but even though I hung in there, doing that for more than three decades, I have always preferred quiet, bookish events….or my own company, along with a good book.

I guess I have a split personality!  lol

Did I manage to move out of my comfort zone?  I definitely did that, and most people I know have a hard time reconciling that person with the quiet “hermit” they now see in my free lance life.  But these days I’m doing what truly brings me comfort and joy.

But I emerge from my office cave every now and then to socialize, and I even enjoy it.

Interesting question…what about the rest of you?  What is your style?  Where are you most comfortable?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers