TEASER TUESDAYS

This meme, hosted by Should Be Reading, is all about teasing potential readers from our current books.

Here’s how it works.

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Today, I’m featuring Secrets of a Soap Opera Diva, by Victoria Rowell.

I know, Kitty, but I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve never hired a black writer on The Rich and the Ruthless in all thirty-seven years.  And Queenie’s been in that wig so long I thought that was her own hair and there’s nothing right about that.  p.94

Here’s a tidbit from Amazon:

Calysta Jeffries is the hottest black actress in daytime and the diva of the soap opera world, known for her role as Ruby Stargazer on television’s most popular soap opera, “The Rich and the Ruthless.”

After fifteen years, three returns from the dead, two failed pregnancies, one alien abduction, and overcoming retrograde amnesia, Calysta still hasn’t managed to snag the biggest award in daytime drama: the Sudsy. Now is supposed to be her moment. But Calysta’s onscreen/offscreen rival Emmy Abernathy wins the award for the fourth time. The drama begins when journalist Mitch Morelli asks Calysta for a quote after the award show and her true feelings for her costar slip out.

Ripped from the headlines of Soap Opera Digest and straight off of the television screen, Secrets of a Soap Opera Diva will give readers plenty to talk about as they try to guess where the real world ends and Rowell’s imagination begins.

What delightful excerpts are you finding today?  I hope you’ll stop by and share.

52 thoughts on “TEASER TUESDAYS

    • Thanks for stopping by, Black and Bookish…I was a fan when she was on The Young and the Restless, and then met her in 2008 at BEA in LA, when she was signing copies of her first book, which is fabulous, called The Women Who Raised Me. All about growing up in foster care.

      Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Jennifer…Yes, I love reading about soap opera stuff…my guilty pleasure and all. Plus, Victoria Rowell’s memoir, The Women Who Raised Me, was quite enjoyable and I admire her achievements.

      Like

  1. Interesting title 🙂 Good teaser too!
    Thanks so much for visiting my TT.

    I have also read the Sue Grafton series – will almost all if it. Did get to the letter R I think.

    Like

  2. The story definitely sounds interesting. And wearing a wig…I’m not sure where that fits, but maybe it’s funny? Hope this is a good read!

    Thanks for coming by my blog today.

    Like

  3. Oh boy! I may seriously have to read this. She was never my favourite character on Y&R, but I’m really curious how much of what’s in this book is straight out of the backrooms of that soap! 🙂

    I think it’s perfectly acceptable to explore soap operas as a genre. I once read a book that had been someone’s PhD dissertation, as she studied how “One Life to Live” functioned and was put together.

    I was so inspired that I created my own little soap opera to entertain my friends. (Now up to episode 21.) It was harder to do than you’d think, hee!

    Anyway. Off on a tangent. Great teaser!

    My own teaser is at Bookishgal.

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Kashicat…I do have another blog where I post about soap operas, in addition to fairytale stuff…it’s called Moonbeams & Rainbows (http://moonbeams-rainbows.blogspot.com/)

      You’re right that writing about the genre is a legitimate and acceptable exploration.

      I can’t wait to see how much of this book is “ripped from the headlines” of soap opera digest.

      Like

    • Oh, I know, Amanda! I love watching soap operas for the same reason. When I was immersed in my social work career, they were the perfect antidote to all that “sturm and drang.”

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

