MY FAVORITE READS

Every Thursday, Alyce, At Home With Books, hosts this wonderful meme in which we get to talk about some favorite books.

And every week finds me scanning my shelves, searching for just the right one.

This week, I chose Where the Heart Is, by Billie Letts, which was published in 1995 and was an Oprah Book Club pick in 1998.

Why I Chose This Book:

I read the book and then saw the movie.  I loved both so much that I watch the movie again and again, when I’m in the mood for seeing how dreams can come true, even for a girl who has her baby in Wal-Mart.

The character of Novalee Nation, with her quirky ideas about the number seven, just won a place in my heart, just as she did with the residents of Sequoyah, Oklahoma.  Then the odd assortment of people living in this town revealed how you can find friends—and love—in the most unlikely of places,  even if you’re not particularly “lucky.”

This book was heart-breaking, funny, and warmly enticing, which makes for an unforgettable combination of ingredients.

What special book did you find this week?  I hope you’ll stop by and share your choice.

6 thoughts on “MY FAVORITE READS

  1. What’s funny is that I don’t recall the book or the movie, but I have heard of the author, and actually have a couple of her books on my shelf (unread). Out of all of her books this sounds like the one I would like the best, simply because I am a sucker for any stories that include pregnancies.

    Like

    • Alyce, I have read some of her other books, too, and have one on my TBR stacks. Can’t remember which one! Now I’m curious and will have to check.

      But I think, of all her books that I’ve read, this one is the best.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

