TEASER TUESDAYS

Miz B, at Should Be Reading, hosts this bookish meme that spotlights tidbits from the books we’re currently reading.

To play, just grab the logo and the instructions, and join in.  Here’s how it works:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Today, I’m reading a book that’s been on my wish list and then my stacks for awhile.  I’m now immersed in it and thoroughly enjoying it.

The Lake Shore Limited, by Sue Miller, is a story about four people who are bound together by the events of 9/11 and its aftermath.

She walked south and west, over into the streets of Cambridge, toward Harvard Square, thinking she would go to the river, she’d sit in the grass there until the sky was light.  As she walked, she thought reasonlessly, uselessly, swinging between a deep disbelief—the sense she had that nothing like what had happened could possibly have happened—and the horrified imagining, over and over, of how it would have been for Gus, slicing into the building, crushing it and being crushed.  p. 146

This excerpt chilled me, and summed up so eloquently the feelings that  surrounded this event for many.

What tidbits caught your eye today?  I hope you’ll stop by and share.

LAUREL-RAIN SNOW CREATIONS

37 thoughts on “TEASER TUESDAYS

  1. That gave me chills too- instantly brought me back to where I was when I first saw the news.

    Here is my TT with link to a giveaway of the teaser book.

    Like

    • Yes, Sue Miller has written some books that are great, IMO, like The Good Mother (made into a movie with Diane Keaton); While I Was Gone (an Oprah pick), and made into a TV movie with Kirstie Alley; and Lost in the Forest, etc.

      Thanks for stopping by, Audrey…

      Like

    • Oh, my, Aimee…you might want to check her out. Some of her books have been made into movies and one was an Oprah pick (While I Was Gone).

      Thanks for stopping by. (I sound like I’m her publicist, or something…lol!)

      Like

  2. Pingback: TUESDAY POTPOURRI « Laurel-Rain Snow's Potpourri

  3. wow. Good teaser. I’m going to add this to my TBR, esp since its all true. I love memoirs and books based on true stories/evens; sad and happy ones. Thanks for sharing:)

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

