MY FAVORITE READS

Good morning, and it’s Thursday already!  Time for our favorite reads, hosted by At Home With Books.

Last night, as I was reading in bed, I flashed on an image.  Two old friends sitting on a beach in those great Adirondack chairs.  Which is how I thought of this book that has been a favorite of mine.

Beaches, by Iris Rainier Dart, and which was later made into a movie starring Bette Midler and Barbara Hershey, is one of those books that absolutely requires a box of tissues nearby.  Ditto for the movie.

I couldn’t even find my copy of the book, which probably means that I had it in paperback form.  Unfortunately, when downsizing three years ago to a small condo, I hauled away a carload of paperback books.

Why I Chose This Book:

I am a sucker for sentimental tales of friendship, especially the kind that’s tested by time and circumstances, yet still grows stronger than ever.

It’s the kind of friendship that books and movies feature sometimes, and which we all hope to have.  At least I do!

On Amazon, this blurb tells us a bit about this story:

YA: A touching story of the friendship between two very different women. Cee Cee Bloom, with her loud mouth, loud personality and flaming red hair, is determined to become a Hollywood star. Bertie White, delicate and conservative, hopes for a loving husband and family. They meet as children in 1951 in Atlantic City, and, as pen pals, keep in touch with each other. Their reunions through the years always occur at or near the beach, whether in Sarasota, Malibu or Hawaii. Their story jumps back and forth between past and present. Cee Cee and Bertie are genuine, and readers will like them and understand why they are friends. Both characters suffer much, particularly Bertie, whose life seems most unjust. Young adults will be pulled into their lives, caring greatly about them and the steady stream of tragedies that befall them. In a particularly moving ending, Cee Cee leaves a show in the middle of production to care for Bertie, who is dying of cancer. YAs will enjoy this emotional tale, but they’ll need to have plenty of tissues handy. Elizabeth Thurston, Baltimore County Pub . Lib .
Copyright 2002 Reed Business Information, Inc.

This book was published in 1986, so in order to get a hardcover copy, one would need to click on the “other sellers” category.  Or find it in the library.

What did you rediscover today?  I hope you’ll pop on over and share some tidbits.

5 thoughts on “MY FAVORITE READS

  1. You know I still haven’t read the book, but I loved the movie as a teenager. I haven’t watched it since then because it does require a box of tissues. It’s one of those movies (like The Bridges of Madison County) that I really have to be in the mood for. But the whole friendship story is just fabulous! I love the parts in the movie when they’re living in the city together. I think anyone that’s ever had a great girl-friendship can relate to the ups and downs shown in the movie. Do you think think the book is that much different (or better) than the movie?

    Have you ever read the sequel? I thought about it for a while, but then somehow didn’t want it to ruin the story that I liked so much with the movie.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

