A BIT OF ME (ME) — BIGGEST PHOBIA

Today we are gathering to share bits and pieces of our selves in this meme hosted by There’s A Book.

Each week, our host poses a questions that will chip away at those bits and pieces of our hidden selves.

Today’s question:  WHAT IS YOUR ABSOLUTE GREATEST PHOBIA?

Okay, now I’m really getting anxious.  Just thinking about my phobias sets me on edge…lol.

Okay, here we go.  My absolute greatest fear is NEVER HAVING ENOUGH.

Maybe it’s more of a fear of not having “enough” of whatever it is I love.  If I love doing it, then more would be better.  If I have to have that new book, just in case it’s not there when I want to read it, then I’ll buy it.  Which is probably why my stacks looked like this a few months ago.  And this is only a portion of what I had.  There were a few stacks here and there throughout the house!

Another View of Stacks

My Out-of-Control Stacks

Or how about this?  I have twenty blogs.  Now why would anyone in her right mind create blog after blog…ad nauseum?  I love creating them, and the urge to create drives me to another one.  I even created one to help me deal with the out-of-control stacks, called Curl up and Read.

I used to constantly redecorate my house, but nowadays, the budget prohibits such expenditures.

It’s probably pointless to speculate on how I got here.  I’m sure that feeling deprived as a child set the tone for that.  Strangely enough, we weren’t poor.  But the treats were few and far between.

Obsessive collecting of books, blogs, and other items (I even have a blog for my Collections!) is a by-product of this fear of not having enough.

I’m sure there are more sane ways to deal with this fear—and I’m working on it.  Perhaps the awareness is the first step.  However, I’ve been “aware” for awhile now, and I’m still plugging along obsessively…lol.

What is your biggest fear?  Dare to share….

10 thoughts on “A BIT OF ME (ME) — BIGGEST PHOBIA

  1. WoW! That’s one heck of a TBR pile! 🙂

    I completely understand though…well, to an extent, especially when it comes to the things I love (at that moment at least). Books definitely. If I don’t have the book, what if the mood strikes me? And being a stay-at-home mom with no car can compound the problem. Although, as you mention – budget, can change things. And fortunately for me, I guess, the budget situation has completely stopped the buying of extra things.

    Great pick and good luck! It’s definitely a tough one.

    Like

    • It’s funny, because I started out to talk about my fear of losing control as the phobia…then it turned into this thing of never having enough. Which is another aspect of that…thanks for stopping by, Danielle.

      Like

    • Pretty crazy, huh? I don’t post on all of them everyday! I’m lucky to get to all of them every week, but I’m usually doing something on them…like tweaking and changing backgrounds, headers, etc.

      Thanks for stopping by, Cheryl.

      Like

  2. I am getting ready to list all the books on my shelf and focus on those for the remainder of the year…and thanks for posting the pics. I feel way better about my piles. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Melissa…I definitely need to work harder on that pile! It doesn’t help to have new books streaming in to my house. I get free books from Amazon Vine; books from occasional authors and publishers; and then I sometimes buy a book or two. But I’ve cut way down on that.

      Glad you could stop by.

      Like

  3. I totally have this problem to the point that I tend to hoard things like toothpaste, shampoo, canned soups, etc. This also includes books and crafting supplies.

    It has come in handy in many of the lean times we have had in years gone by.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

