MY FAVORITE READS

On Thursdays, we gather around and share about our favorite books…and Alyce, At Home With Books, hosts this fabulous event.

My usual trend lately is to scan all of my bookshelves, and then, just when I think I won’t find anything at all, it happens.  Only this time, the trigger was something on another blog.  On Shon’s Books and a Cup of Tea, she featured a book that is a sequel.  And then I knew which book I had to spotlight today.

Waiting to Exhale, by Terry McMillan, was first published in 1992, and then, of course, came the movie.  Is it just a coincidence that my favorites are often made into movies?  Or do they become favorites after I’ve taken in the visual imagery that is sometimes magical at the theater?

The sequel to this particular book is coming in September, and is called Getting To Happy.

Why I Chose This Book:

I’ve always been drawn to stories about strong, fiercely independent women who have to struggle but eventually overcome obstacles along the way.  It doesn’t hurt to throw in a few really good women friends for those cheering and bonding moments.

These books remind me of those times in my own life when I’ve struggled and turned to special friends for their support…and even advice.

I still recall going to the movie, a few years later.  I was visiting one of my sons and his family in LA and I was still very fascinated by the theaters there.  We went at night (which I seldom do!), so that alone made the event huge.  A bunch of us went and what strikes me most is that I didn’t fall asleep once!  Going at night, and to a later performance, I would have been snoozing if the movie wasn’t fabulous.  So that tells you something, doesn’t it?

Of course I now have the DVD.  I still enjoy watching it when I’m needing that extra special boost.  The same can be said about the book.

So what is your favorite book today?  I hope you’ll come on by and share some tidbits.

6 thoughts on “MY FAVORITE READS

  1. I haven’t read the book or seen the movie, but I have heard excellent things about both of them. That’s a long time between sequels too. I wonder if the book picks right up where the first left off, or if there’s a long period of time.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

