A BIT OF ME (ME) — FAVORITE CHARACTERS

Danielle, at There’s A Book, features this Saturday meme, which gives us the opportunity to share bits and pieces of our real selves.

Each week, she poses a question which will elicit just another tidbit about who we are.

Today’s question:

WHO IS YOUR FAVORITE FEMALE CHARACTER — IN A BOOK, MOVIE, OR TV SHOW?  AND WHY?

Wow!  There are so many favorites in books, that I can barely enumerate them.  One of my early favorites, of course, was Jo March, from Little Women; then later I loved Scarlet O’Hara, from Gone with the Wind. Nowadays I enjoy tough, female characters like Lindsey Milhone, in the Sue Grafton books, or V. I. Warshawski in Sara Paretsky’s series.

You probably notice a theme here…tough, single-minded, independent women.

But I also enjoy the vulnerable independent types, like Lauren Graham in the new series Parenthood. I was very excited to see that the show is returning this fall.  Oftentimes, a show I love is a short-timer.

Lauren Graham

Her character is a single-mom with two teens who moves back home to her parents’ house in Berkeley after the break-up of a relationship. She really wants to be independent and it grates on her that she has to return home.  But she still makes her own decisions for her kids, even when she ends up at odds with her parents or siblings.  Oh, yeah, all the grown siblings live close by and bring their own issues into the mix.

I’m really looking forward to what they all do next, but this character is my favorite.

So what are you all sharing about today?  I must click around and see what’s happening, and I hope you’ll stop by here, too.

Have a great weekend!

12 thoughts on “A BIT OF ME (ME) — FAVORITE CHARACTERS

  1. You know, I thought about Kinsey Millhone from Sue Grafton’s books, but she always seems too independent for me. I haven’t read the last few yet, but her love life leaves a lot to be desired:)

    Bad me, I haven’t watched Parenthood yet. I will remedy that!

    Like

    • I have! I hope that one comes back, too, Vicki.

      Is it just me, or are the TV series seasons really short these days? I just really start getting into a show and it’s over.

      At least they plug in some new shows for the summer, nowadays, instead of just reruns.

      Like

  2. Oh, we are BIG Parenthood fans in my house! I was more drawn to the series when it started just because Lauren Graham was going to be in it and then it just got better once I started watching it. Love it! Gilmore Girls was also a favorite of mine because of Graham.

    And me too on the Jo March…just perfect in the book, not as much in the film version, but that’s just me.

    PS…Sorry about being so late dropping by! I was at a writing conference this weekend and failed to mention it in the post, that I would take a day or two to get to everyone. I will definitely be better next week! 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, what an exciting adventure, Danielle (the writing conference). Just glad you stopped by.

      When I heard that Parenthood was coming back this fall, you could have probably heard me go SQUEEE! from where you are.

      So often the shows I love end….

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

