MONDAY IMPRESSIONS

Photograph by Craig Robinson, Berlin Photographer

Photograph by Craig Robinson, Berlin Photographer

Monday is a day of reflection and musing, and some of my thoughts can be found over at one of my other blogs, Explorations, Reflections, & Meditations.

But those thoughts are mostly about books.

Today I’d like to share my impressions about family and those connections that last over a lifetime.  Hopefully.

I worked for many years with families, but those were usually people in crisis.  I didn’t see their “best” moments, until, after a period of months of hard work, they would sometimes surprise me with the depth of the ties that bind them to their family members.

Which is another reason that I strongly believe in the enduring bonds of family.  Even when the family members have problems and even when the connections have seemingly torn asunder.

Of course, there are families in which the bonds never seem to hold. Maybe they weren’t there in the first place.  Or maybe some kind of disconnect happened due to other influences, like drugs or emotional problems.  Nothing can fray the bonds of family more than these kinds of problems.  Sometimes, even the best therapy cannot repair the damage.

But in many cases, I believe that wounds can heal.  And connections can be restored.

Hope is what I like to focus on, and hope carried me through the difficult years.  Those years when Mondays brought that feeling of dread as I thought about what I would face during that day.

Mondays are better for me now, because I can connect to people on the web; I can work on my current WIP; and I can read the books I love and sometimes find from the recommendations of the community of bloggers with whom I connect nowadays.

I can dream about the endless possibilities of connections.

2 thoughts on “MONDAY IMPRESSIONS

  1. I had to break away from mine (my parents) in order to change self-destructive patterns. Before this break, I felt my family was dragging me with them to hell. Now that I see the positive results in my children, I am sure that was the right decision.

    I think the bonds were there, but my parents needed a scapegoat (for lack of a better term). They needed people around them with more issues than they had. It made them feel better, like they were superior.

    It’s more complicated than a couple of paragraphs, but I’m sure you saw my type of family come through. 😉

    Like

    • Thanks, J. Kaye. Actually, my own (original) family was very dysfunctional. My father was authoritarian and controlling, and everything I did was wrong. I, too, broke away from that early; when it came time to “create” my own family, I vowed to do everything differently. I think I succeeded in that. Nowadays, when I think of family, I think of the one I created with my kids.

      I’m glad you were able to break those ties…the kinds of ties that we have to let go of in order to save ourselves.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

