Posted in book beginnings, The Friday 56

FRIDAY MEMES — CHRISTMAS EVE VERSION

 

Merry Christmas, and welcome to our Friday memes:  Book Beginnings and The Friday 56.

Book Beginnings is all about sharing the opening sentence(s) of our current reads and reacting to them.  Hosted by A Few More Pages, we link up there and then get to visit other bloggers and see what they’re spotlighting.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice, and here’s how it works:

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Link it here.

Today I’m focusing on a book that has finally graduated from my very deep TBR piles.  Room for Love, by Andrea Meyer, is a tale about a single NY woman determined to change her life.

A blurb on Amazon:

Unlucky-in-love magazine editor Jacquie may have found the way to meet a man and land an article in a major woman’s magazine. Though she’s just bought her dream New York apartment, she begins perusing roommate-wanted ads, looking not for the perfect pad but the perfect guy. After visiting a few apartments and scoring a few dates, Jacquie has the fodder for her article but not a perfect ending.

 

Beginning:  “Hey.  It’s me.  Would you please let me know if you’re coming tonight?”

I sense a bit of desperation in the tone here…which leads me to believe that this young woman’s search for the perfect man must move beyond her current lover.

56:  There’s an illness that afflicts New York couples.  They’re living happily in some shoebox apartment in Manhattan, and life is groovy.  Then they get married—and start to feel queasy.

I’m guessing that this will be an entertaining read.  I plan to read it quickly and laugh a lot.

What about you?   What have you found for today’s post?  I hope you’ll stop by and share….

Author:

Retired social worker * Mother * Grandmother * Writer *Obsessive blogger * Book Reviewer * Loves movies & collecting things * *To find out more about my books and blogs, check my website, Laurel-Rain Snow's Creations...

12 thoughts on “FRIDAY MEMES — CHRISTMAS EVE VERSION

  1. Your Friday 56 made me laugh out loud. That’s a great sentence. I wanted to do Quotes for Sat. I tried to get Freda’s button. I had it on my page. The problem is the code shows. I had to take it off. I would like to do QUOTES FOR SAT.

    Like

    1. I think that if you “copy and paste” the code into your widget, it will show up as a button.

      I think an easier way is just to copy the image, and then insert the URL.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my 56. I did “beginnings” too, but the host hasn’t posted anything.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

