FRIDAY MEMES: BEGINNINGS & FRIDAY 56 — FEB. 4

 

How did Friday get here so quickly?  Oh, well, never mind…it’s time for the Friday Memes!  Book Beginnings, hosted by A Few More Pages, and The Friday 56, hosted by Freda’s Voice.

This is how it works:

For Beginnings, we share opening line(s) of our current read, share the title and author, and then add our thoughts about it…just before joining the other bloggers at Mr. Linky.

For 56, we turn to that page, grab an excerpt, also linking to the title and author, and, of course, link up over at our host’s blog.

Today I’m spotlighting a book from an author I have enjoyed many times over.  This book has graduated from my TBR stacks! The Blue Bistro, by Elin Hilderbrand, promises to be a delightful read.

Here’s a blurb from Amazon:

The pricey, popular bistro of the title is the real star of Hilderbrand’s fourth novel set on Nantucket. After years of hotel employ, peripatetic Adrienne Dealey, 28, lands her first restaurant job within hours of disembarking on the bucolic Massachusetts island. She’s got a lot of learning to do as assistant to co-owner Thatcher Smith. Adrienne’s soon attracted to the handsome Thatcher, and he seems to return her feelings. But just what is his relationship with his partner, the famous, utterly reclusive chef Fiona “Fee” Kemp? And why will no one talk about her?

 

And now, drum roll, please!

The Beginning:

Adrienne needed a job.

She arrived on Nantucket Island with two maxed-out credit cards, forty borrowed dollars, and three rules scribbled on an Amtrak cocktail napkin.

I’m getting the picture here that our character is desperate and ready to jump into anything.  Uh-oh, is my first thought.  What about yours?

 

P. 56:

Mack Peterson, manager of the Beach Club, who was another sandy-haired Midwesterner, shook Adrienne’s hand and assured her he would only send her his best clients.

 

So now I’m ready to engross myself in all things Nantucket within the pages of this book…that’s probably the only way I’m going to see the island!

What about the rest of you?  What tidbits can you share today?  Please stop by….

22 thoughts on “FRIDAY MEMES: BEGINNINGS & FRIDAY 56 — FEB. 4

  1. Your blog design is so beautiful and refreshing to see. I love the changes. Now, we have a French restaurant in town, Le Bistro but I’ve never been inside. Your book cover is gorgeous and reminds me of a place I’ve seen in Maine during the summer… happy reading!

    Like

    1. Oh, how I long to visit the East Coast again! But until that happens, I can visualize these places through books. Thanks for stopping by, Lady D, and for complimenting my blog changes. I have a lot of fun doing it!

      Like

  2. Love the beginning!! Sounds like something that would hook me right in, and for the 56.. totally scared to find out what kind of “best clients” he’ll be sending.

    Thanks for stopping by:)

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.