FRIDAY MEMES: BOOK BEGINNINGS & FRIDAY 56 — MARCH 11

 

 

 

 

Welcome to our Friday Memes, the event that brings us together to spotlight books we’re reading, either now, or very soon.

Book Beginnings is hosted by A Few More Pages.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice.

Today I grabbed a book that’s described as “breezily hilarious…and, ultimately, tender and heart-tugging.”

Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakthrough, by Ruth Pennebaker, is one I received for review.

 

In our beginnings, we excerpt one or two (or so) lines, and then share our thoughts.

Beginning:  “I don’t want you to get upset when I tell you this,” Richard said.

He was breathing heavily into the phone.

 

Okay….now whenever I hear someone telling me I shouldn’t get upset, I know it’s bad news.  And the heavy breathing doesn’t bode well, either.

 

For the “56,” we pick an excerpt from that page in the book.

The 56:  She didn’t want to do anything.  She just wanted to disappear.

 

I can’t wait to plunge into this one.  Descriptions like “hilarious” and “heart-tugging” tell me I’m going to love it.

What did you decide to share today?  I hope you’ll stop by and leave some comments and links.

30 thoughts on “FRIDAY MEMES: BOOK BEGINNINGS & FRIDAY 56 — MARCH 11

  1. Hi Laurel-Rain,

    I love those opening lines, they really do set a scene, don’t they.

    When I followed through to read the synopsis, it’s not a surprise that the poor guy is breathing heavily!!!

    I know just how she feels, being trapped into a sandwich of live, where you just can’t escape, I think that fantastic cover art speaks volumes.

    Thanks for sharing and making me smile.

    Like

  2. I love your post… good one. Isn’t it hard to just listen and be detached instead of already deciding to react?! Thanks for stopping by today. I see you’ve changed things around on your blog… I like it!

    Like

  3. I read that book a month or two ago. That is an excellent opener, isn’t it? Unfortunately, I didn’t find the book all that hilarious, but hopefully you’ll like it more than I did.

    Thanks, as always, for stopping by Proud Book Nerd!

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

