Posted in Booking Through Thursday, Theme Thursdays, Thursday Sparks

THURSDAY SPARKS: THEMES & BOOKING — DEC. 8

Good morning, and welcome to another Thursday event, with lots of sparks flying as we share snippets about particular themes; and as we ponder some bookish questions.  Theme Thursdays is hosted by Reading Between Pages; and link up here for Booking Through Thursday.

Theme Thursdays is a fun weekly event that will be open from one thursday to the next. Anyone can participate in it. The rules are simple:

  • A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
  • Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
  • Mention the author and the title of the book along with your post
  • It is important that the theme is conveyed in the sentence (you don’t necessarily need to have the word)
    Ex: If the theme is KISS; your sentence can have “They kissed so gently” or “Their lips touched each other” or “The smooch was so passionate”

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is to symbolize the month of December and festivities..

HAPPY

***

Of all the books I’m currently reading, or about to read, I had to really search to find one that wasn’t dark, mysterious, scary…well, you get the picture.

Then I picked up Pug Hill, by Alison Pace, and found the “happy” theme right away.

Blurb:  For Hope McNeill, pugs are love, happiness, freedom-and everything else she finds lacking in her own life. With no time or apartment space for a pug of her own, Pug Hill in Central Park is her one refuge from her mismatched boyfriend, her hopeless coworker crush, and the biggest crisis of all-a speech for her parents’ fortieth wedding anniversary that will require her to overcome her huge fear of public speaking.

***

Theme Snippet:  “Mom and I were thinking how nice it would be for you to make a speech at the party.”

He says it happily, in anticipation, it seems, of all the niceness that will surely be my speech.

***

And now for the Booking Through Thursday prompt:

All things being equal, which would you prefer–a mystery? Or a love story?

***

Well, as you know, all things are never equal when our moods are dictating our reads.  And mine often do, as we discovered last week.  But I do plan ahead, and I try to include a variety of books on my weekly list.

I tend to have lots of dark ones, and many of them are mysteries.  So I guess I’d have to say that mysteries dominate the themes of my reads.

Here are some recent reads:

See what I mean?

I’m currently reading a romance book, but it’s the first I’ve read in awhile.

Sometimes, there will be romance in mystery books, too, but that doesn’t count, does it?

What are your thoughts today?  About the themes here and about the bookish prompt?  I hope you’ll come on by and share….

Author:

Retired social worker * Mother * Grandmother * Writer *Obsessive blogger * Book Reviewer * Loves movies & collecting things * *To find out more about my books and blogs, check my website, Laurel-Rain Snow's Creations...

27 thoughts on “THURSDAY SPARKS: THEMES & BOOKING — DEC. 8

  1. Have read good reviews about ‘A Pug’s Tale’ and now this one.. so should pick it up soon and read it myself.. I would pick a love story I guess.. but if it had a mystery thrown in there, it would make it all the more better

    Like

  2. I’m in agreement with you when you say that mood affects your reading choices. 🙂 There are times when I want to read a really happy-themed book to lift up my feelings and there are times that I also pick up a rather gloomy book while feeling gloomy myself. 🙂

    Like

  3. I am not much of a romance reader so I would choose mystery 🙂 I do however usually have several books going at once… currently I have our book club read, a dysytpia, a non fiction, a Christina Fiction mystery, and two audio books….. *sigh*

    Like

    1. I usually prefer mystery or contemporary books, with occasional romance as dessert…sometimes I actually do indulge in the romance, but not the gooey kind. Just finished reading Nora Roberts’ newest book.

      Thanks for stopping by, Sheila.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

