CREATIVE SPARKS: SATURDAY SNAPSHOT — FEB. 4

Sparks are flying around the blogosphere again today, as we join in with Alyce, At Home With Books, to showcase our Saturday Snapshots.

Today I have more old family photos to share.  This first one is a 1913 portrait of my maternal grandparents.  This photo was taken on or about the time of their marriage.  They both came to the United States from Sweden, separately, while young; they met in LA and married, after which they moved to the Central Valley.

1913 Photo - Ben and Emma Larson

I snapped this next photo of a painting I have hanging in my home.  My mother grew up in the farmhouse depicted here, and she painted it a few years ago.

Painting by my mother

I remember visiting this house and wandering in the surrounding areas.  I especially loved that old tankhouse directly to the left of the farmhouse. 

The interior of the farmhouse had two staircases:  one that led up from the kitchen, and the other from the living room.  I had a lot of fun exploring the rooms, especially one that held my grandfather’s photography equipment.  He died while my mother was still a child, but I loved that his equipment was still there.

Now that I’m feeling very nostalgic, I’m eager to visit all of your featured images.

36 thoughts on “CREATIVE SPARKS: SATURDAY SNAPSHOT — FEB. 4

  1. You really resemble your grandmother, Laurel, especially the expression. Beautiful photo! I posted another oldie today too.
    Have a great weekend!

    Like

    • Thank you, Kaye. My grandmother was my very favorite person. She was always so attentive…and tolerant. I loved staying with her in the summers.

      Glad you could stop by, and I was just visiting your “tow headed” photo…lol

      Like

    • I have several of my mom’s paintings. Some of my favorites are the ones she did of the seaside.

      But this farmhouse one evoked my nostalgic feelings about time spent with my grandmother.

      Thanks for stopping by, Diane.

      Like

    • Thanks, Trish. I have this photo and many other family shots framed and hanging on the walls of my office. I also have numerous photos of family throughout the house. I am surrounded by the memories.

      Glad you could stop by, and enjoy your weekend.

      Like

  2. I love the picture of your grandparents. Isn’t it funny how often the men were seated and women standing? A custom of the time I guess. The painting is lovely and thanks for sharing your memories with us.

    Like

  3. Good photo. You do look like your grandmother, and I like the painting too. Such a soft touch to the landscape.
    Kay, I wonder too why the men are so often seated. Would the reason be that the man is so much taller to make his wife look less short? I could identify.

    Like

    • Hmm, I am curious about that, too. I used to think it was because the male, as the “head of the household,” felt it was his due. lol

      I wonder if anyone knows the answer to that one?

      Thanks for stopping by, Carolyn. Enjoy your weekend.

      Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Eugenia…Hmm, maybe he does look a bit like Daniel Craig. I have always thought “Abraham LIncoln,” lol.

      My older brother looked a lot like my grandfather.

      Enjoy your weekend.

      Like

  4. Great shot of your grandparents. Funny that they are not touching at all. My mom has a painting of her childhood home in Kentucky too. I remember visiting there once and a snake was hanging from the rafters of the barn where they hung the tobacco. Here’s Mine

    Like

    • Hmm, that’s an intriguing story, Paulita…and you’re right about the “not touching” part. I think someone told them they had to be stiff and formal for photos. Even shots of my mom as a child showed her looking very stiff.

      Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy your weekend.

      Like

    • Oh, I know, Leslie. In many older photos (this was 1913), I’ve noticed that “trend.”

      I can only speculate about what it meant.

      Yes, those are definitely grapevines. I still recall wandering amongst them. Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy your weekend.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

