Posted in waiting on wednesday, Wednesday Sparks

WEDNESDAY SPARKS: WAITING ON “THE WEDNESDAY DAUGHTERS” — MARCH 6

Fairytale Endings

Welcome to another thrilling Waiting on Wednesday, our day to eagerly drool over books we’re anticipating.  Join Jill, at Breaking the Spine, to see what everyone else has picked.

Today I’m very excited about a book coming on July 16:  The Wednesday Daughters, by Meg Waite Clayton.  Appropriate feature for our Wednesday event!

book_WednesdayDaughtersCover

In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Karen Joy Fowler, Meg Waite Clayton, bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters, returns with an enthralling new novel of mothers, daughters, and the secrets and dreams passed down through generations.

It is early evening when Hope Tantry arrives at the small cottage in England’s pastoral Lake District where her mother, Ally, spent the last years of her life. Ally—one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters—had used the cottage as a writer’s retreat while she worked on her unpublished biography of Beatrix Potter, yet Hope knows nearly nothing about her mother’s time there. Traveling with Hope are friends Anna Page and Julie—first introduced as little girls in The Wednesday Sisters, now grown women grappling with issues of a different era—who have offered to help Hope sort through her mother’s personal effects. Yet what Hope finds will reveal a tangled family history—one steeped in Lake District lore.

Tucked away in a hidden drawer, Hope finds a stack of Ally’s old notebooks, all written in a mysterious code. As she, Julie, and Anna Page try to decipher Ally’s writings—the reason for their encryption, their possible connection to the Potter manuscript—they are forced to confront their own personal struggles: Hope’s doubts about her marriage, Julie’s grief over losing her twin sister, Anna Page’s fear of commitment in relationships. And as the real reason for Ally’s stay in England comes to light, Hope, Julie, and Anna Page reach a new understanding about the enduring bonds of family, the unwavering strength of love, and the inescapable pull of the past.

***

I can’t wait!  Which is why I’ve preordered it.  That task somehow alleviates the angst of waiting, knowing that it will appear without further action on my part.  What are you waiting for?  Come on by and let’s chat.

Chat with Coffee

Advertisements

Author:

Retired social worker * Mother * Grandmother * Writer *Obsessive blogger * Book Reviewer * Loves movies & collecting things * *To find out more about my books and blogs, check my website, Laurel-Rain Snow's Creations...

18 thoughts on “WEDNESDAY SPARKS: WAITING ON “THE WEDNESDAY DAUGHTERS” — MARCH 6

  1. Nice pick! Doesn’t sound like my kind of read but still hope you enjoy it! Love that blue cover though!

    Thanks for visiting my WoW!

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s