WHAT IGNITES YOUR INTEREST ON A FRIDAY?

f7a432018edb98c490f9e9ad846b7657.jpg

 

What sparks your enthusiasm as a weekend approaches?  What ignites your passion?

For me, it’s great books and movies.  One of my current reads is an epic story penned by a well-known Southern writer:  Pat Conroy.  Beach Music has been on my stacks for quite awhile…and it is a heavy-weight (literally).  With almost 800 pages, it is definitely one to savor, and it takes the reader back and forth in time and across countries.  From South Carolina to Italy and also to Holocaust times, we can immerse ourselves in the culture, the ambience, and the flavors of this world painted by this author.

From Amazon:  PAT CONROY, America’s preeminent storyteller, delivers a sweeping novel of lyric intensity and searing truth–the story of Jack McCall, an American expatriate in Rome, scarred by tragedy and betrayal. His desperate desire to find peace after his wife’s suicide draws him into a painful, intimate search for the one haunting secret in his family’s past that can heal his anguished heart.

Spanning three generations and two continents, from the contemporary ruins of the American South to the ancient ruins of Rome, from the unutterable horrors of the Holocaust to the lingering trauma of Vietnam, Beach Music sings with life’s pain and glory. It is another masterpiece in PAT CONROY’S legendary list of beloved novels.

 

16729

 

Meanwhile, I am reading a few other books, just so I can see an ending on the horizon.  Right now, I’m approaching the 600 page mark in my epic novel.

Today is also a day to enjoy new movies, and I’m eager to see August:  Osage County, with Meryl Streep, Julia Roberts, and many others.

 

71Xpdc9EgOL._SL1279_

 

Now I’m off to see the movie….Sparky (my Kindle) is coming with me, so afterwards I can read while I eat lunch.  I’m taking this book along:  I See London I See France, by Paulita Kincer.

 

81U3cQ+n17L._SL1500_

 

So…again.  What sparks your weekend moments? 

 

sparks-button

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “WHAT IGNITES YOUR INTEREST ON A FRIDAY?

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

