TUESDAY SPARKS: INTROS/TEASERS – “THE DEEPEST SECRET”

y8ekqo13031746531

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Should Be Reading.

Today’s featured book is The Deepest Secret (e-book), by Carla Buckley.

 

 

91I70LQcVVL._SL1500_

 

Intro:  Thursday, August 28 (Eve)

Birthdays are supposed to be happy occasions, so Eve plans a party.  There are the usual anxieties.  Who would come?  Would Tyler like his presents?  Then there are the special worries, the ones other people didn’t have to think about.  She won’t focus on those.

She makes a cake, a bigger-than-life-size iPad that takes a day and a half to decorate instead of the six hours the Internet site promised.  The problem is getting the paint the right consistency so the lake doesn’t bleed into the shoreline.  And all those tiny icons.  She’s tossed dozens in the trash, false starts where the Facebook f was too wobbly and the camera came out looking as though a giant thumb had pressed down hard.  She hesitates over balloons.  Do they even matter at night?   In the end, she decides, why not, and drives home from the party store with so many fat balloons crammed into her backseat that she can’t see out her rearview mirror.  She imagines being pulled over by the police for driving under the influence of helium.

***

Teaser:  They’d all been wonderful, in that imperfect way birthdays are, but the best had been his very first, before they knew. (p. 11).

***

Amazon Description:  For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we’re scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.
 
Eve Lattimore’s family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.

Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control—and some secrets that not even love can conceal.

Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power—a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.

***

Would you keep reading?  Come on by and share your thoughts and your links.

***

 

sparks-button

***

 

Advertisements

47 thoughts on “TUESDAY SPARKS: INTROS/TEASERS – “THE DEEPEST SECRET”

  1. I want to eat that cake now 🙂 I’ve seen pictures of those beautiful cakes online, and I’m not that talented unfortunately and can’t do it, I’m always amazed by it. the book sound very good though, I do love a good family story and this sounds like there is quite a bit going on with the illness and other things happening.
    My post is here

    Like

  2. Oh wow, light sensitivity is not something you read a lot of books about. It must be so hard having to keep your child inside if you just want it to be able to enjoy itself playing outside. Also, her worries about decorating the cake are so recognizable, you always want everything to be perfect for the other.
    Thanks for hosting and for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great week!
    My post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

    • Thanks, Juli, and there is so much to the sensitivity that is more complicated than I would have imagined…a simple ray from a passing car light, etc. Not just sunshine. I am enjoying the book, even though it is sad.

      Like

  3. Love the idea of an iPad cake, but had to laugh because it always takes so much longer to duplicate a creation I’ve found online! This book sounds very appealing, especially since I just finished Defending Jacob and the blurb mentions William Landay.

    Like

    • Oh, neither would I! And yes, there is a sadness to Buckley’s books, that often delve into disasters, as well as illnesses, but she has a way of bringing the story out that makes me keep reading. Thanks for visiting, Beth.

      Like

    • I only recently discovered this author, reading The Things That Keep Us Here, first, followed by still another of her books. I knew I would want to read this one, and so far, I’m loving it. I agree…good for discussion, Literary Feline.

      Like

  4. that was a pretty good opening. I’d read more just to see if she does get a ticket for driving under the influence of helium. I’ve felt that way myself a time or two. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by today.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s