Posted in first paragraphs, teaser tuesdays

TUESDAY SPARKS: INTROS/TEASERS – “FALLING INTO PLACE”

y8ekqo13031746531

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Should Be Reading.

Today I am featuring an ARC from Amazon Vine.  A new author (to me), Amy Zhang’s Falling Into Place is a haunting and universal story that will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

 

 

20306804

 

 

Intro:  On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s Laws of Motion in physics class.  Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

As she lies on the grass with the shattered window tangled in her hair, her blood all around her, she looks up and sees the sky again.  She begins to cry, because it’s so blue, the sky.  So, so blue.  It fills her with an odd sadness, because she had forgotten.  She had forgotten how very blue it was, and now it is too late.

Inhaling is becoming an exceedingly difficult task.  The rush of cars grows farther and farther away, the world blurs at the edges, and Liz is gripped by an inexplicable urge to get to her feet and chase the cars, redefine the world.  In this moment, she realizes what death really means.  It means that she will never catch them.

***

Teaser:  (Five Months Before Liz Emerson Crashed Her Car)

On the first Friday after the start of Liz’s junior year, only three topics were discussed at lunch:  Ms. Harrison’s plus-size miniskirt and fishnet stockings, the sheer number of freshman skanks, and the enormous beach party Tyler Rainier was going to throw that night. (p. 14)

***

Blurb:  One cold fall day, high school junior Liz Emerson steers her car into a tree. This haunting and heartbreaking story is told by a surprising and unexpected narrator and unfolds in nonlinear flashbacks even as Liz’s friends, foes, and family gather at the hospital and Liz clings to life. This riveting debut will appeal to fans of Before I Fall, by Lauren Oliver, and 13 Reasons Why, by Jay Asher.

“On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.” Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? The nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect?

***

What do you think?  I am intrigued, and this is not my usual genre.  I’m going to have to stop saying that, however, because of the sheer number of YA books that have found their way onto my stacks lately.  Come on by and let’s chat.

***

Advertisements

Author:

Retired social worker * Mother * Grandmother * Writer *Obsessive blogger * Book Reviewer * Loves movies & collecting things * *To find out more about my books and blogs, check my website, Laurel-Rain Snow's Creations...

52 thoughts on “TUESDAY SPARKS: INTROS/TEASERS – “FALLING INTO PLACE”

  1. I don’t read that many YA either, but if it features something that intrigues me, and is not just high school crushes, then I might pick it up. I enjoyed If I Stay, I want to read The Fault in our Stars, and now I want to read this. If something is catchy, I’m in! Thanks for introducing me to this title.

    Like

    1. Yes, that’s how I’m choosing them, too, Rita. I’m currently reading If I Stay and enjoyed The Fault in Our Stars. I also liked Perks of a Wallflower.

      Thanks for stopping by, and I’m glad for the opportunity to selectively read books outside my usual genre, because of Vine.

      Like

  2. I’d keep reading. I find a lot of YA books lately have been very well done and touch on subjects that are appealing to young people these days. These are not the young of my youth, but rather much more sophisticated and in tune young adults. I like them!

    Like

  3. I used to be able to say that too about YA books given how few I read, if any. While they aren’t the majority of my reading by any stretch, I don’t think I can say it’s a genre outside my usual reading anymore. 🙂

    The intro grabbed me right away. What a sad story! I would keep reading.

    Like

  4. The book’s opening grabbed me, and your Teaser made me smile. That’s enough to make me step outside my usual genre and give this book a try. Like you, my “usual genre” seems to be expanding! This book sounds like it’s about more than teenage crushes or mean girls.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and taking the time to leave a comment.
    KATIE AND THE IRISH TEXAN.

    Like

  5. How odd isn’t it that YA seems to be so popular. A good portion of the movies about to be release and have been released recently are adapted from YA novels. I don’t typically read them either but this year I’ve read We Were Liars and The Fault in Our Stars. There definitely are some good YA novels but it’s not my go-to genre.

    Here’s my teaser: The Mockingbird Next Door.

    Like

    1. Those are my sentiments, too, Shirley…and I read those same books that you mentioned: We Were Liars and The Fault in Our Stars.

      I am glad that YA isn’t the only genre making it to film, however. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  6. Definitely not something I’d choose, but then I’m sort of high school phobic. I mostly enjoyed my own high school years, but don’t really want to be reminded of them. Hope this one isn’t as sad as it sounds.

    Like

    1. Oh, I definitely don’t want to re-experience high school…hated it, actually! LOL.

      But as I watch my grandkids enjoying it, I am taking a second look. Carefully. So the books I choose will be very selective. Thanks for stopping by, Joy.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s