TUESDAY SPARKS: EXCERPTING “THE GIRLS”

Books & fairytales - TUESDAY EXCERPTS

 

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Books & a Beat.

Today’s feature is my next up read, a review e-ARC from NetGalley.  The Girls, by Emma Cline, is an indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.

 

 

 

the girls by emma cline

 

 

Intro:  I looked up because of the laughter, and kept looking because of the girls.

I noticed their hair first, long and uncombed.  Then their jewelry catching the sun.  The three of them were far enough away that I saw only the periphery of their features, but it didn’t matter—I knew they were different from everyone else in the park.  Families milling in a vague line, waiting for sausages and burgers from the open grill.  Women in checked blouses scooting into their boyfriends’ sides, kids tossing eucalyptus buttons at the feral-looking chickens that overran the strip.  These long-haired girls seemed to glide above all that was happening around them, tragic and separate.  Like royalty in exile.

***

Teaser:  My task made me a spy in my mother’s house, my mother the clueless quarry.  I could even apologize for our fight when I ran into her that night across the stillness of the hallway.  My mother gave a little shrug but accepted my apology, smiling in a brave way.  (45%).

***

Synopsis:  Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence.
 
Emma Cline’s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.

***

I have been eager to start reading this book, a reminder of a time when young people longed for a more free and casual way of life, and often plunged ahead impulsively with no clue about what could happen to them.  What do you think?  Would you keep reading?

***

Advertisements

46 thoughts on “TUESDAY SPARKS: EXCERPTING “THE GIRLS”

    • Thanks, Sandra, and it does take me back to that horrible summer of Charles Manson…and how before that, hippies seemed fun and their lives looked idyllic. Funny thing about appearances. Enjoy your pick!

      Like

    • What fun to have your physical ARC winking at you! Mine is tucked away in Pippa, and the ARCs there don’t even have covers…so no winking. But it is calling to me, Catherine. Enjoy!

      Like

  1. I just read this book last week and absolutely loved it! Something about Cline’s writing style just completely blew me away! I hope you enjoy it 🙂 and thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am fascinated for the same reasons….the group dynamics are so interesting. How does a cult leader mesmerize and gather around him those who would do his bidding? Thanks for stopping by, Wendy.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s