MONDAY SPARKS: WHAT ARE YOU MUSING ABOUT?

snow-sparks-logot-romantic-restaurants-2011

It’s Monday, and time to muse along with The Purple Booker.  Check out these topics:

 

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week…

 

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Did you get any good books for the holidays?

***

The past week has been one of reading review books…and older books that had been languishing on my shelves for a while.  Currently I’m reading one that I bought a year ago:

Last Night at the Viper Room, by Gavin Edwards, the life and tragic death of acclaimed actor River Phoenix—a teen idol on the fast track to Hollywood royalty who died of a drug overdose in front of West Hollywood’s storied club, the Viper Room, at the age of 23.

 

 

81vjhsdsfhl-_sl1500_

I recall watching several of his movies, along with my teenage offspring, one of whom was born almost exactly one year after River Phoenix.

I loved the movie Running on Empty, with Christine Lahti, Judd Hirsch, and River Phoenix.  The story of a family living off the grid after a horrific 1960s event that changed their lives.

***

As for Christmas books, I didn’t get any….but I got something even better, for me:  an Amazon gift card!  Book buying begins after January 1, as I don’t want to add more “unread” books to my shelves until my new Read the Books You Buy Challenge starts on January 1.

Yes, fudging a little.

What are you reading or dreaming about reading?

***

6 thoughts on “MONDAY SPARKS: WHAT ARE YOU MUSING ABOUT?

    1. Oh, I have plenty of unread books, but the ones that will count for the new challenge can’t be read before January 1, if that makes sense. LOL.

      The really old books that I still haven’t read don’t count either, as they are too old. A conundrum.

      Enjoy your week, Cheryl, and I will be off to check out your gift books.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

