BOOKISH FRIDAY: “LYING IN WAIT”

Welcome to another Bookish Friday, in which I  share excerpts from books…and connect with other bloggers, who do the same.

Let’s begin the celebration by sharing Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and let’s showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

What a great way to spend a Friday!

Today’s feature is a NetGalley ARC that will be released on 6/12/18:  Lying in Wait, by Liz Nugent, a “seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre” (Sunday Mirror).

 

 

Book Beginning:  (1980, Lydia)

My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.  After we had overcome the initial shock, I tried to stop him speaking of her.  I did not allow it unless to confirm alibis or to discuss covering up any possible evidence.  It upset him too much and I thought it best to move on as if nothing had happened.  Even though we did not talk about it, I couldn’t help going over the events of the night in my mind, each time wishing that some aspect, some detail, could be different, but facts are facts and we must get used to them.

***

Friday 56:  I raised my voice in anger.  It is something I do very seldom.  “Laurence, I am trying to protect you.  If this gets out, you will go to jail.” (56%).

***

Synopsis:  On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life—wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia’s son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax.

For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a “seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre” (Sunday Mirror).

***

I was captured by the “seductively sinister story” and a “superbly scary denouement.” Now I must know more!  What do you think?

***

Advertisements

32 thoughts on “BOOKISH FRIDAY: “LYING IN WAIT”

  1. I think I saw someone post about this on Instagram today. In addition to the “sinister” in the blurb, that cover is a bit terrifying. I mean, if you’re taking just the title and the hand sticking out of the dirt… well, I let my imagination run a bit wild before I read on. Thank you, creepy. Happy reading!

    eli @ the (book) supplier
    My Friday 56

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.