BOOKISH FRIDAY: “WATCHING YOU”

Welcome to another Bookish Friday, in which I  share excerpts from books…and connect with other bloggers, who do the same.

Let’s begin the celebration by sharing Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and let’s showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

What a great way to spend a Friday!

Today’s feature is a relatively new book, a hardcover version:  Watching You, by Lisa Jewell, author of the “riveting thriller” (PopSugar) Then She Was Gone delivers another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect “for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and Luckiest Girl Alive” (Library Journal).

 

 

Beginning:  (Prologue), 24 March

D C Rose Pelham kneels down; she can see something behind the kitchen door, just in front of the bin.  For a minute she thinks it’s a bloodstained twist of tissue, maybe, or an old bandage.  Then she thinks perhaps it is a dead flower.  But as she looks at it more closely she can see that it’s a tassel.  A red suede tassel.  The sort that might once have been attached to a handbag, or to a boot.

***

Friday 56:  Freddy wasn’t a pervert.  He wasn’t a bully.  He wasn’t a criminal.  He watched girls in order to understand them.  He was just trying to work it all out.  It was just another project.

***

Synopsis:  Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England; home to doctors and lawyers and old-money academics. It’s not the sort of place where people are brutally murdered in their own kitchens. But it is the sort of place where everyone has a secret. And everyone is watching you.

As the headmaster credited with turning around the local school, Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved by one and all—including Joey Mullen, his new neighbor, who quickly develops an intense infatuation with this thoroughly charming yet unavailable man. Joey thinks her crush is a secret, but Tom’s teenaged son Freddie—a prodigy with aspirations of becoming a spy for MI5—excels in observing people and has witnessed Joey behaving strangely around his father.

One of Tom’s students, Jenna Tripp, also lives on the same street, and she’s not convinced her teacher is as squeaky clean as he seems. For one thing, he has taken a particular liking to her best friend and fellow classmate, and Jenna’s mother—whose mental health has admittedly been deteriorating in recent years—is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her.

Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam…

***

What do you think?  Would you keep reading?

***

30 thoughts on “BOOKISH FRIDAY: “WATCHING YOU”

  1. My favourite genre, an author I haven’t read before and some great opening ‘first lines’ – You just try and stop me reading on!

    I also like that Lisa hasn’t so far, become embroiled in any lengthy series writing and that all her books are stand alone stories, which suits my style of reading ‘down to the ground’.

    Thanks for sharing and Happy Reading 🙂

    Yvonne
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for visiting, Yvonne, and I agree about this author. I have loved every one of her books so far, although it is challenging to get them. They seem to take forever to get here, waiting for publication and then delivery! LOL

      Enjoy your reading!

      Like

  2. Sounds like plenty of opportunities for conflict in that community. Definitely piqued my interest.

    I’m reserving judgment on Freddy. It depends on who is doing the assessing of his behavior in the Friday 56. Is it his assessment of himself or someone else’s assessment of him? These books tend to have unreliable narrators, so it isn’t always clear what’s up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So true about Freddy…I had assumed that was his self-assessment, and, if so, he could be a narcissist or some other unreliable type. I am eager to find out. Thanks for visiting, Roberta, and enjoy your pick.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Elizabeth, I have the hardcover version on my living room coffee table, and I’ve been gazing at it every day. I hope to start it soon! I love this author.

      Enjoy your reading and your weekend, and thanks for visiting.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.