MUSING MONDAYS: EXPERIENCING MY READING…

Welcome to another Musing Mondays.  It has been a while since I participated.  To join in, click on over to The Purple Booker.

Here are some prompts:

 

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEKS RANDOM QUESTION: How do you experience a book when you read? In general do you often find yourself being drawn into the story quickly or do you need more time to warm up to characters?

***

My current read:

A Season to Lie, by Emily Littlejohn:

“Small town Colorado police detective Gemma Monroe is a human and fallible heroine I can’t wait to meet again, and Littlejohn’s prose is lyrical and gripping.”—Deborah Crombie

In Emily Littlejohn’s follow-up to her acclaimed debut Inherit the Bones, a twisted killer stalks his prey in the dead of winter.

 

***

I like to experience a book by immersing myself in it.  I curl up with the book and a notebook…since I’ve been writing reviews for everything I read (since 2008), I like to jot down the characters’ names and their relationships to others in the story.  Setting is another piece I like to make note of…and as different plot points come up, I might write those down, too.

Does that sound like I’m not really enjoying the book?  Well, no, not if the writer captures my interest…and then the story flows around me, as if I am experiencing the moments.

When I have trouble losing myself in a story, that is a red flag that I’m not connecting with it…and I may, then, just slog my way through…or not finish the book. That doesn’t happen often, however, as I very carefully select the books I read.

Life is too short to read boring, overly pedantic, or poorly written books.

***

How do you experience books?  What are you reading?

***

HUMP DAY SPARKS: A READING JOURNEY

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

 

 

CURRENTLY READING:

This morning I started The Futures, by Anna Pitoniak, a debut novel about love and betrayal, in which a young couple moves to New York City in search of success-only to learn that the lives they dream of may come with dangerous strings attached.

Last night I read a couple of chapters of Idaho, by Emily Ruskovich, a stunning debut novel about love and forgiveness, about the violence of memory and the equal violence of its loss—from O. Henry Prize–winning author Emily Ruskovich…

 

***

 

 

JUST FINISHED:

The Mother’s Promise, by Sally Hepworth (click title for my review) was a totally engaging story of the bonds of family, and the events in life that weaken them…or strengthen them.

 

***

 

 

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

Some time this week, I will receive Small Hours, by Jennifer Kitses, from Amazon Vine Reviews.

 

***

In the vein of Richard Russo and Tom Perrotta, a gripping, suspenseful, and gorgeous debut novel–told hour-by-hour over the course of a single day–in which a husband and wife try to outrun long-buried secrets, sending their lives spiraling into chaos.

***

It will be another engaging week ahead!  What does your week look like?

***