TUESDAY EXCERPTS: “THE YOUNGER WIFE”

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events: First Chapter/Intros, now hosted by Socrates Book Reviews; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by The Purple Booker.

Today’s feature is a NetGalley ARC that will be released on April 5, 2022:  The Younger Wife, by Sally Hepworth.

***

Intro:

(Prologue)

I always cry at weddings.  Nothing original there, I know—except, perhaps, the reason.  Most people cry for joy apparently, or because they’ve been catapulted back to their own wedding day and are overwhelmed by the emotion of it all.  I cry because I am sad.

***

Teaser:

They waited in the windowless room for what felt like an eternity.  It must have been part of the process:  trying to “sweat them out.” (61%).

***

Synopsis:

THE HUSBAND
A heart surgeon at the top of his field, Stephen Aston is getting married again. But first he must divorce his current wife, even though she can no longer speak for herself.

THE DAUGHTERS
Tully and Rachel Aston look upon their father’s fiancée, Heather, as nothing but an interloper. Heather is younger than both of them. Clearly, she’s after their father’s money.

THE FORMER WIFE
With their mother in a precarious position, Tully and Rachel are determined to get to the
truth about their family’s secrets, the new wife closing in, and who their father really is.

THE YOUNGER WIFE
Heather has secrets of her own. Will getting to the truth unleash the most dangerous impulses
in all of them?

***

I can’t wait to dive into this one.  What do you think?

***

8 thoughts on “TUESDAY EXCERPTS: “THE YOUNGER WIFE”

  1. Diane

    Sounds good Laurel, I can relate to that – for years, after my divorce, I didn’t even want to attend a wedding as they made me sad. I’m curious about this one. Here is minehttp://bibliophilebythesea.blogspot.com/2022/03/first-chater-first-paragraph-tuesday.html

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.