A-Z WEDNESDAY — NOV. 3

 

 

 

Welcome to A-Z Wednesday, hosted by Reading at the Beach.  Check out the rules, so you can play, too.

To join, here’s all you have to do:
Go to your stack of books
Find an author whose first or last name starts with the letter of the week

Post:
1~ a photo of the book
2~ title and synopsis
3~ link(amazon, barnes and noble etc.)
4~ Come back to Reading At The Beach and leave your link in the comments.
5~ If you’ve already reviewed the book, add the link.

This week’s letter:  Author – First or Last Name – “M”

 

Today I’ve grabbed a book from my TBR stacks—one I really want to read soon.  I love this author’s work, especially for long, rainy days or evenings, when I can curl up with a book and cups of tea.

Whitethorn Woods, by Maeve Binchy, is a book about village life and change.

 

Here’s a snippet from Amazon:

Nestled outside the once sleepy Irish village of Rossmore in a copse known as Whitethorn Woods is the shrine of St. Ann’s Well, which attracts so many of the faithful and hopeful that the little town overflows with visitors. This prompts a controversial proposal to construct a bypass highway that would divert traffic, ironically, right through the Woods, thus destroying the source of the town’s popularity. Worried that the shrine’s days are numbered, villagers flock to the Well, where they plead for everything from the restoration of a faltering love affair to the recognition of an ancestor’s legacy. Foregoing her trademark plot-driven narrative for a tale in which the outcome is predictable (will the shrine be saved? duh!), Binchy instead focuses her prodigious talent on a robust assemblage of characters embroiled in romantic and domestic crises. Inventively and intricately weaving a series of linked vignettes, Binchy astounds with the versatility of the supplicants’ voices, from the diabolical machinations of a mother whose daughter has committed murder to the sad serenity of another whose child was kidnapped decades earlier. Binchy is at her best in this tender yet potent tale of a traditional land and people threatened and challenged by the forces of change. Carol Haggas

 

What marvelous books did you discover today?  Please stop by and share some comments and links.

8 thoughts on “A-Z WEDNESDAY — NOV. 3

  1. Hi Laurel,

    Thanks for stopping by my place. This is my first time playing this meme. I like it. It’s fun. I love, love Maeve Binchy. Thought I had read it. I haven’t. Thank goodness I had the chance to read your excerpt. Have you ever heard Maeve Binchy interviewed? She’s wonderful. She talks very fast and she’s very friendly like she’s talking to a bunch of best friends. Glad you love cats too.

    Like

    1. No, I haven’t heard Maeve Binchy interviewed, but I’m not surprised that she talks that way…she writes as though we’re her friends, too…

      Sometimes I postpone one of her books when I have others on the stacks (and boy do I have others!), because I like to savor hers.

      Thanks for stopping by, Tea….

      Like

    1. Michelle, I think that Maeve Binchy’s true talent is in creating characters that almost immediately begin to feel like friends and neighbors. More than any plot could, her characters pull in the reader.

      That’s what I love about her books.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.