THURSDAY SPARKS: MOOD READING — MARCH 14

messy bookshelves-memeWelcome to Thursday Sparks, where today we’re celebrating a Booking Through Thursday event.

Today we’re examining the issue of Mood Reading:

Does your current mood affect your reading? Affect your choices? I know there are plenty of books I enjoy, but only if I’m in a particular kind of mood–or books that can lift me out of a bad mood without fail. Surely I’m not alone?

***

Lately, my reading has been somewhat organized, as I’ve been planning out each week and blogging about it on Mondays.  But when I plan, I do consider my moods, as well as any review books on my stacks that need to get done.

Despite the “obligations,” therefore, I do consider my moods.  Some weeks must have mysteries, to elevate me from my angst or distract me from my issues.  And I also need something light in there to balance out the heavier reads.

This week, my list seems strongly weighted toward review books, but I purposely picked a mix that included something I knew I would enjoy:  a fun sounding read.

Click for my review
Click for my review

The View from Penthouse B is all about women at a certain time in their lives, having dealt with several crises, finding the joy and hilarity in their connections to the people around them.  Light and funny moments to balance out their troubles.

I also turn to authors I’ve enjoyed when I need to feel uplifted.  Like Wendy Wax’s newest book:  While We Were Watching Downton Abbey.

15808601

I just finished this one last night, and it was the kind of book I needed for my current mood: I had a few worries and distractions that needed an escape.

And finally, I’m now reading this review book that is also taking me out of my everyday world, and enhancing my mood:

15797933

The Tin Horse is a multigenerational story, but at its heart are secrets, a little mystery…and that feeling that exists in families and friendships.  About the intense, often fraught bonds between sisters, mothers, and daughters and the profound and surprising ways we are shaped by those we love. At its core, it is a book not only about the stories we tell but, more important, those we believe, especially the ones about our very selves.

See, even my organized weeks can cater to my moods.  And always there are books nearby that I can pick up, depending on my mood, even if they’re not on my list!  Because it’s my list…right?

So how do you deal with your moods in terms of your reading?

18 thoughts on “THURSDAY SPARKS: MOOD READING — MARCH 14

    1. Sometimes it’s good to go outside our comfort zones…and when I’ve joined challenges that push me toward that, I find books I wouldn’t have otherwise chosen…and actually enjoyed. Thanks for stopping by, Shannon. And may your reading mood be wonderful.

      Like

  1. You mentioned something valuable here, that reading is a form of escape. What better mood changer than escapism between the pages of a good book? Or even a bad one for that matter!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Pam…I am very happy that books allow an escape, whether it’s into a world of long ago, or a contemporary one with characters that engage us. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. Enjoy your escapes!

      Like

  2. We all need those books to help us over a bumpy time or sad time or even to be there with us for the happy times. The Downtown Abby one looks like a book that could be a ‘good friend” if that makes sense. Sometimes we just need a book like that–that feels as comfortable to read as it is being with an old friend.

    Like

    1. Ha-ha….I haven’t always planned my reading week, but since I started blogging, that’s how I roll…but there’s always room for changes in the reading list. Thanks for stopping by, Bibliophile.

      Like

  3. That makes sense! I try to plan ahead in my WWW Wednesday post each week, but I don’t always end up reading the books I picked out for various reasons.
    Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

    1. Usually I end up reading the books I’ve planned…but this week, I’ve been diverted from the tasks I set. Primarily because of dates when review books are coming out…and I don’t want to read them too far ahead…

      Thanks for stopping by, Megan.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.