MY FAVORITE READS

Alyce, At Home With Books, helps us celebrate our favorite reads every Thursday.

On some of our older shelves, perhaps, we’ll find that book we haven’t thought about in awhile.

Today, I’m spotlighting a book published in 1975.  A movie was made from this book in 1977—and both the book and the movie became a cautionary tale for young women of our time.

In the free-wheeling sixties and seventies, young people didn’t  think about the consequences of their actions as much as they should have.  So Looking for Mr. Goodbar, by Judith Rossner was a reminder of what could happen.

Why I Chose This Book:

Graphic depictions of the possible consequences of foolish and dangerous choices can turn a young person away from a path that can, at the very least, lead to nothing positive.

I must admit that seeing the movie a couple years later (starring Diane Keaton) hammered that point home even more horrifically.

On Goodreads, we find this tidbit:

Theresa was a quietly satisfied young teacher by day. But when the sun went down, her life was an endless, faceless whirl of bars and beds and men she’d never seen before and wouldn’t see again. If she couldn’t find love, she took chances on men who were better than no men at all. And learned, with each new night and each new nightmare, that finding her man was only the beginning.

So…on that note, I’ll ask if anyone out there even remembers this book (or movie), and, if so, what are your thoughts?

What is your favorite book this week?  I hope you’ll stop by and share.

4 thoughts on “MY FAVORITE READS

  1. I remember the movie but haven’t read the book. In fact, I didn’t know there was a book which makes it one more to add to the list! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Amy…I loved the book, way before they made the movie, so you should check it out.

      I’m a bit miffed, though, because I can’t find my copy of the book! I searched and searched…I’m wondering if I lent it to someone and didn’t get it back? That happens to me sometimes. Grrr. Because now I want to reread it!

      Like

  2. I haven’t heard of the movie or the book, but I love Diane Keaton’s acting. I’m curious about what horrible things happen, but also hesitant to find out. 🙂

    Like

    • It’s probably better to read the book first…the movie is pretty graphic. Suffice it to say that it scared me straight!! lol

      Thanks for stopping by, Alyce. Why is it that I always choose books that are kind of horrible, while you choose wonderful books about chocolate, etc.?

      I have a dark side! lol

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

