FRIDAY SPARKS: BOOK BEGINNINGS/FRIDAY 56 – “THE APPETITES OF GIRLS”

4-30-curlupandread-001-framed-book-beginnings2friday 56

Welcome to some bookish fun today as we share Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and as we showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

If you have been wanting to participate, but haven’t yet tried, now is the time!

What better way to spend a Friday?

 

Today’s spotlight is on an Amazon Vine ARC, called The Appetites of Girls, by Pamela Moses.

 

 

18693817

 

Beginning:  For Old Time’s Sake – 2003

This, above all else, binds the four of us together:  standing side by side, each struggled to believe the best in herself, hearing amid the dark doubts in her mind the whisper of triumph.

Long before we grew in strength, we began life in separate corners.

***

56:  “Enjoying your drink, missy?”  He cocked his head to one side, staring, so that I felt he absorbed every bit of me from the silver barrette in my hair to the wedge heels of my new shoes.

***

Blurb:  For the audience that made Commencement a New York Times bestseller comes a novel about women making their way in the world. 

Self-doubting Ruth is coddled by her immigrant mother, who uses food to soothe and control. Defiant Francesca believes her heavy frame shames her Park Avenue society mother and, to provoke her, consumes everything in sight. Lonely Opal longs to be included in her glamorous mother’s dinner dates—until a disturbing encounter forever changes her desires. Finally, Setsu, a promising violinist, staves off conflict with her jealous brother by allowing him to take the choicest morsels from her plate—and from her future. College brings the four young women together as suitemates, where their stories and appetites collide. Here they make a pact to maintain their friendships into adulthood, but each must first find strength and her own way in the world.
***
What do you think?  I am not quite sure about this one, but I’m hopeful. 
***
sparks-button***

 

25 thoughts on “FRIDAY SPARKS: BOOK BEGINNINGS/FRIDAY 56 – “THE APPETITES OF GIRLS”

  1. Four girls who meet as roommates in college in a Western culture;; sounds dramatic! I cannot help but wonder if Ruth’s mother, who is an immigrant and uses food to soothe and comfort is Hispanic? Ha ha ha! Sounds like my momma XD

    Like

    1. It’s an Eastern Europe country. Similar to many immigrant cultures, I think. They are also Jewish, with the traditions that come with the culture and the religion.

      I do like the sound of this one, too, and as I’m reading it, I’m liking it more now than I did in the beginning. It is moving rather slowly, but hopefully, it will speed up. Thanks for stopping by, Claudia.

      Like

  2. Fiza

    Sounds like a good read, but this book would have escaped me. (yes I judge books by their covers..) So thank you for sharing with us!

    And thank you for stopping by my blog 😉

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.